So now I know that 5 cupcakes in one day is my limit. This is a good thing to know. How did I come to this conclusion you ask? Well let me explain…

I had intended to make a Cookies n Cream Cake because it combines two of my greatest loves in life – cookies and cake – when i stumbled upon a little gem of a recipe which made my heart flutter a wee bit:

Cookies n Cream Cupcakes! – More specifically, Oreo Cupcakes!

I have Annie’s Eats to thank for my dream cupcake. Not only was it one of the only recipes that didn’t include yogurt in the batter, but the recipe used about 3 times the cookies of other recipes.

Although the recipe called for about 40 cookies, I had eaten quite a few of them by the time I started baking so had about half that, which roughly works out to a pack and a half of Oreos.

I also didn’t use the frosting in the recipe… Because I had used up (see: eaten) all the Oreos. Instead I found this nifty little frosting recipe that goes perfect with these cupcakes. It also uses sour cream which i thought was a bit different and added a little bit of tartness to an otherwise extremely sweet cupcake (not that i’m complaining).

inside cookies n cream cupcake

Ultimately I was pretty happy with these cupcakes. My only minor complaint (and no doubt this is my baking prowess rather than the recipe) is that they seem a teeny bit dry. If anyone bakes these and finds the same thing, let me know. Otherwise I will assume it’s me.

Regardless, I still ate 5 of them… in one morning… one after the other.

I had to give at least 10 of them away because I feared the repercussions of eating 24 cupcakes all by myself.

So now i’ve found a recipe for Champagne Cupcakes which look absolutely amazing. I have to try it out… I can hear the recipe calling me… Watch this space.

